Mini Ulta Haul

Hello!!!

I ran by Ulta to make a return today… && of course I couldn’t stop myself from purchasing more makeup. So, I thought I’d share with you what I picked up on my mini haul!

Ulta just started carrying NARS.. which basically completed my day. I don’t shop at Sephora, so I’ve never actually tried NARS. I’ve heard amazing things about their blush (especially Orgasim)! Which means… I purchased their blush, in Orgasim. HAHA!

IMG_6735

NARS does a GREAT job on packaging. A lot of times, these boxes are super difficult to open. I HATE tearing them. Don’t ask. However, NARS makes a little slip with a pull tab, making the box super easy to open. On top of that, the blush is protected by additional cardboard packaging… ensuring that this little beaut is protected during its entire trip to your house! I love that they go the extra mile with their packaging!

The blush container has a velvet, matte feeling to it. It’s really soft. I feel like they went above and beyond here. However, it smudges really easily. I had foundation on my finger when I pulled it out of the box, so I smudged it within 5 seconds of opening it.

IMG_6736.JPG

When you open the blush, there is another layer of protection. A lot of companies place a flimsy piece of plastic here. Not NARS. This plastic is thick and really gives you the security of knowing that the product will stay protected. On top of that, they brand the plastic. I love this. They put a lot of though into their packaging and ensuring that their name is on every layer.

IMG_6737.JPG

Finally, for the blush itself. I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS COLOR. I have cool toned skin, so it can be hard for me to find a blush that looks good. However, this color is absolutely beautiful. It is highly pigmented and went onto my brush very smoothly.

IMG_6738

I also picked up Urban Decay’s NAKED Illuminated Shimmering Powder. I’ve heard great things about this product, and even though it has been on the market for awhile now, I never had the chance to try it out. I decided that it was time today.

IMG_6739

I purchased it in the shade Aura. It was a toss up between all of the shades that they offer in this product, but I opted to get this one because it was shimmery without too much color added. This box was a little harder to open. I ended up ripping it. 😦 In addition, there was no additional protection around the product BUT I honestly don’t think it is needed here because the powder is inside a very thick box.

IMG_6740

And here it is…. Ahhhh!!! Can you hear the angels singing?? This thing is gorgeous. Seriously. I love the design of the box, the unique design of how the powder sits, that there is a mirror, AND a little brush hidden away in the bottom.

IMG_6742

Here is a close up. Look at all that SHINE!!

IMG_6743

The powder was super smooth and pigmented, as well. It transferred right onto my brush. A lot of illuminators take some effort to get onto the brush, but not this bad boy.

 

Last, but definitely not least… I picked up four shades of Anastasia Beverley Hills (ABH) eyeshadow and a magnetic palette to hold them in! Ulta is having a sale today… buy four shades for $40 and get the palette for FREE. ❀

IMG_6745

The packaging isn’t really too special. The boxes are thin and easy to tear open. I don’t think that this is really a concern though because the shadows are protected by a plastic covering, inside. The palette has no additional protection.

The palette only holds four shades. I like this and hate this. It makes it an easy, affordable way to make your own palette. However, if you ever want to add more, you have to keep buying palettes. I wish that it held more, honestly.

IMG_6746

I bought four GORGEOUS colors. The formula is amazing. They are like butter, which tells me that the blending will be superb. First, Sangria. It is a burgundy, wine color. This shade is matte.

IMG_6747

IMG_6748

Second, Gold Rush. This one is a metallic, shimmery shade. When I say yellow, I mean yellow!!

IMG_6749

IMG_6750

Third, Orange Soda. This one is a lighter orange shade. It is matte.

IMG_6751

IMG_6752

And fourth, Metal. This one is a metallic, shimmery silver color.

IMG_6753

IMG_6754

I took these products and created one of my favorite looks. I blended the shadows to make a sunset eye. The blush and the illuminator really pulled the look together and sealed the deal.

IMG_6761

I finished the look with my favorite Kylie Lip Kit… Dolce K… and threw some Poppin’ ontop of it.

IMG_6764

Let me know what you think!!

❀ – a

Leave a Reply

